WORKSHOP

deutsch | english
© HMKV

Superficial Intelligence: A trashy talk-show about dumb robots and the people who love them

Dortmunder U | 3rd Floor | 02/25/2017 , 11:00-15:30 h

Artificial intelligence is on everyone's lips. The borders between science and science fiction are often blurred. Despite 60 years of impressive research, we still appear to be some way away from a functioning digital being.

Rather than debating the probability of an intelligence, or "real" AI, that surpasses human intelligence, in this workshop we will examine why we find the idea so fascinating and sometimes even rather funny using examples from art, science and pop culture.

Using simple statistics software, we will build our own, undoubtedly flawed "superficial intelligence" chat robot that may have something to say about what it means to be "intelligent" and a "human being".

Workshop in German.
Please bring a laptop with you.
No knowledge of programming required.

Admission free.
As the number of participants is limited, please register at info@hmkv.de.

Workshop lead by: Brendan Howell

Brendan Howell was born in Manchester, Connecticut, USA in 1976. He is an artist and a reluctant engineer who has created various software works and interactive electronic inventions. Currently, he lives in Berlin, Germany. He has done research and led courses at the Muthesius Kunsthochschule, Merz Akademie, Fachhochschule Potsdam and the Kunsthochschule Berlin, Weißensee.

Sponsored by innogy Stiftung für Energie und Gesellschaft

EVENTS

Fri, 3/29/2019
Opening "The Alt-Right Complex”
19:00 - 22:00 | Dortmunder U



Sat, 3/30/2019
Guided Tour with the Curator “The Alt-Right Complex”
15:00 | Dortmunder U



Sat, 3/30/2019
Lecture Performance: Vanja Smiljanić Waves of Worship (WOW)
17:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 3/31/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sat, 4/6/2019
Guided tour for kids “The Alt-Right Complex”
15:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 4/7/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 4/14/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Fri, 4/19/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 4/21/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Mon, 4/22/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 4/28/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 5/5/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 5/12/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 5/19/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 5/26/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 6/2/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 6/9/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 6/16/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 6/23/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 6/30/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 7/7/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 7/14/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 7/21/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 7/28/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 8/4/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 8/11/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 8/18/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 8/25/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 9/1/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U



Sun, 9/8/2019
Public Guided Tour “The Alt-Right Complex”
16:00 | Dortmunder U